Guide · Choosing legal AI
How to Choose a Legal AI Tool in Saudi Arabia & the GCC
A practical checklist for law firms and in-house teams choosing a legal AI tool in Saudi Arabia or elsewhere in the GCC. The table does not rank the tools and it does not name a winner. Each cell is what that vendor's own public page said on 19 October 2026. Where a page is silent, the cell says “Not stated publicly.”
General information, not legal advice. Vendor pages change. Check the linked page before you rely on a cell, and ask counsel in the jurisdiction that governs the matter.
What to check before you sign
Run the list on one real matter: an Arabic contract or a question under Saudi or UAE law, plus the English version if you have one. A polished demo on a public sample is not the test.
- Arabic legal language. Ask for the answer in the Arabic a Saudi or UAE lawyer would file, not a fluent paraphrase. Check defined terms, the names of courts and regulators, and whether the tool keeps the statutory wording when the statute is in Arabic.
- Saudi, UAE, and other GCC official texts. Ask which statutes, regulations, gazettes, and judgments are actually in the product, and which states are out of scope. A country named on a marketing page is not the same as the official text being retrievable.
- A citation you can open. The answer should take you to the article, judgment, or clause it used. A confident summary with no path back to the text is not a citation.
- Where the data sits, and where the model runs. Ask where the file, the backups, the logs, and the model run are located, and whether those places are the same. SDAIA's page on the Personal Data Protection Law says the law applies to any processing of personal data that takes place in the Kingdom, including processing of residents' data by a party outside the Kingdom. The published text says the same in Article 2. SDAIA's page also lists a right to be told if the data will be transferred or processed outside the Kingdom. The UAE government portal says Federal Decree-Law No. 45 of 2021 on the Protection of Personal Data applies to electronic processing inside or outside the state, and that the law sets controls on cross-border transfers. Neither page states one mandatory hosting country for a legal AI tool. For the other GCC states, use the data protection guide for legal teams.[1][2][3]
- Confidentiality and access. Ask who inside the firm can open a matter, whether customer content is used to train a model, whether the vendor's staff can read a file, and how access is cut off when someone leaves. A “we take security seriously” line is not an answer.
- The Word workflow. Ask whether the tool works inside Microsoft Word or only imports and exports a file. If the work is Arabic, ask what happens to right-to-left layout, numbering, and tracked changes on the way out.
- Arabic and English together. Ask whether both language versions of the same document live in one matter, and whether a change in one version is visible against the other. Translation of a finished draft is a different feature from drafting in both languages.
- How the price is built. Ask whether you pay per seat, per credit, or by a quote, what a credit includes, who counts as a user, and what is still “contact sales.” Do not treat a calculator on a homepage as a binding quote until the order form says the same number.
What each vendor publishes
Grouped by the kind of tool a Gulf buyer usually puts on the same shortlist: global legal AI, tools discussed for Arabic or GCC work, and a general chatbot. Names inside a group are alphabetical. That order is not a ranking. Checked on 19 October 2026.
Swipe sideways to read the rest of the table.
| Tool | What the vendor says it is | Arabic and GCC legal sources | Citations to the source text | Hosting and residency | Word and bilingual drafting | Pricing model |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Global legal AI | ||||||
| Harvey | Harvey's homepage presents it as AI software for legal and professional services, with pages for in-house teams, law firms, and mid-size firms.[4] | The platform page describes research across legal, regulatory, and tax questions, Ask LexisNexis, and 500+ regional knowledge sources. Arabic or GCC primary law is not stated publicly on that page.[5] | The platform page says agents deliver a review-ready result, fully cited.[5] | The security page says customers can keep data in-region in the EU or Switzerland, the US, or Australia, and that the cloud environment is hosted in Microsoft Azure. It says processing is offered in the EU and Switzerland or Australia, including for subprocessors. Saudi Arabia and the UAE are not named.[6] | The platform page lists Word and Outlook. Bilingual Arabic and English legal drafting is not stated publicly on the pages checked.[5] | Not stated publicly. The site offers a demo and ROI calculators, not a price list.[4] |
| Legora | The homepage describes collaborative AI for lawyers and says the product handles workflows across law firms and in-house teams.[7] | The legal research page says findings are cited to primary law. Named sources there include Wolters Kluwer, EDGAR, FromCounsel, Jus Mundi, EUR-Lex, and the Singapore Academy of Law, plus “many more”. No GCC or Arabic primary-law source is named on that page.[8] | The legal research page says every finding links to the primary source. The security page says every AI output can be traced to the source data and the prompt.[8][9] | The security page says enterprise packages let the customer control where data is stored and for how long, with a bring-your-own-key option, and that customer data is not used to train or fine-tune models. Saudi Arabia and the UAE are not named on that page.[9] | The Word add-in page says lawyers can draft, redline, and review in Microsoft Word, and translate a document in Word with DeepL. Arabic and English legal drafting, as distinct from that translation feature, is not stated publicly on that page.[10] | Not stated publicly. The pages checked offer a demo, not a price list.[7] |
| Tools discussed for Arabic and GCC work | ||||||
| Qanu | Qanu's legal AI page describes an Arabic-first legal workspace for GCC law firms and in-house legal teams: research, matter documents, and collaboration in Arabic and English.[11] | That page says the workspace is for firms and in-house teams across the GCC, including matters in Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and the wider GCC, and that it works in Arabic and English, including GCC legal terminology. A list of official gazettes or statutes in the library is not stated publicly on that page.[11] | The legal AI page says every answer links to the law, regulation, or matter document it relied on.[11] | The security page states in-country hosting in Saudi Arabia and the UAE.[12] | The documents page says you can import Word and PDF into the matter workspace and export house-ready files without breaking bilingual layouts, and it tags that step Word and PDF. A Microsoft Word add-in is not stated publicly on that page. The legal AI page says the workspace is used in Arabic and English.[13][11] | The homepage lists a Free plan and an Enterprise plan marked Contact Sales. A currency price is not stated publicly.[14] |
| General chatbots | ||||||
| ChatGPT | OpenAI's enterprise privacy page describes ChatGPT Business and ChatGPT Enterprise as ways for an organization to use ChatGPT. A legal library of statutes or judgments is not stated publicly on the pages checked.[15] | Not stated publicly. The pages checked do not name Saudi, UAE, or other GCC legislation.[15][16] | Not stated publicly. The pages checked do not say that an answer links to the official text of a statute or judgment.[15] | The Help Center article on data residency says eligible new ChatGPT Enterprise and Edu customers can store in-scope customer content at rest in listed regions that include the United Arab Emirates, and can add inference residency in Europe (EEA and Switzerland), the United States, or the United Arab Emirates. Saudi Arabia is not in either list. The article says some data may still be stored outside the chosen region, and that inference residency does not keep all processing in-region. It notes limits on the UAE inference option. The enterprise privacy page and the data-use article say business data from ChatGPT Business, Enterprise, and Edu is not used to train models by default. The data-use article says content from individual plans (Free, Plus, and Pro) may be used to train models unless the user turns that off.[16][15][17] | The pricing page lists Excel, Word, PowerPoint, and Google Sheets extensions. Bilingual Arabic and English legal drafting is not stated publicly on the pages checked.[18] | The pricing page names Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise, and says paid plans are priced per user per month. Business starts at two users. Enterprise is sold through sales. A currency amount was not in the page text when checked.[18] |